Skip to product information

Mondo - Rodan Numbered Edition Variant Vinyl Record


Behold the might of Rodan, the giant monster from the sky! In 1956, Toho unleashed their first colour kaiju picture: RODAN, directed by Ishiro Honda and produced by Tomoyuki Tanaka, is a terrifying tale from the creators of the original Godzilla that sees a giant Pteranodon rise from a deep underground cave after being disturbed by miners. Like the Big G, Rodan has mutated to excessive size after being exposed to nuclear radiation, subsequently soaring free above Kyushu to cause as much mayhem as possible as the JSDF do their best to protect the island from his bloodthirsty rampaging. It was inevitable that the man behind the music of Godzilla would also take on scoring RODAN, and the great Akira Ifukube created a score with a solemn edge as with Godzilla, which makes the music of RODAN fit in the larger universe while allowing it to feel unique to the character. For the main theme, Ifukube introduces a malevolent low piano and brass phrase before cointerpointing it with horns to create a howling menace worthy of Rodan. In contrast, beautiful but melancholy material represents the carnage the monster has brought upon the Earth; in a more upbeat mode, the composer includes another of his jaunty and jazzy marches for the JDSF in the guise of “Get Rodan”. It’s another Toho triumph from the great maestro Ifukube! (Charlie Brigden).

Composed by Akira Ifukube
Artwork by Henry Abrams
Mondo and Toho present the premiere release of the classic Rodan soundtrack. Pressed on 140g colored vinyl featuring a spot varnish gatefold sleeve, numbered edition of 2000
Manufactured in Czech Republic
Made by Death Waltz Recording Company

1 Main Title
2 The First Victim
3 Tragedy in the Tunnel
4 Meganulon Appears
5 The Terror of Meganulon
6 The Meganulon Pursuit
7 Cave-In
8 Earthquake
9 Amnesia
10 Tracking Supersonic Speed
11 The Shadow Across the Sky
12 The Birth of Rodan
13 The Huge Underground Cavern
14 Rodan Emerges
15 Get Rodan
16 Rodan Flies to Sasebo
17 Rodan and the Saikai Bridge
18 Rodan Attacks Fukuoka I
19 Shockwave Fury
20 Rodan Attacks Fukuoka II
21 The Self-Defense Force Heads to Aso
22 The Great Nature of Aso
23 Ending

Mondo - Rodan Numbered Edition Variant Vinyl Record
Mondo - Rodan Numbered Edition Variant Vinyl Record
Mondo - Rodan Numbered Edition Variant Vinyl Record

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review